Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.




Longest serving member of the House of Representatives representing Surulere constituency 1 of Lagos state, Femi Gbajabiamila has emerged speaker of the ninth house of representatives.

Gbajabiamila, who was nominated by the former Appropriations Committee Chairman, Rep. Jibrin Abdulmumin (APC-Kano) polled 281 votes out of 358 votes cast against Umar Bago who scored 76.

Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Omolori who presided over the elections confirmed that there was one invalid vote while two members were absent.

The lawmaker, who was endorsed by the All Progressives Congress, has been a member of the lower chamber since 2003.

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker thanked former Speaker, Yakubu Dogara for his role in his emergence and promised to work across board to ensure that there’s development in the Nation.

Gbajabiamila also made his first appointment – Sanusi Rikiji, former Speaker of Zamfara State as his Chief of staff

Also, Ahmed Idris also known as Wase also emerged as Deputy Speaker unopposed

Hon. Sada Soni (APC-Katsina) nominated him while no other nomination was made.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

You may also like ...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *